World Fantasy Awards℠ 2022

2022 Lifetime Achievement Awards

Rowena Morrill
Samuel R. Delany

* Winners in bold.


  • The Jasmine Throne by Tasha Suri (Orbit)
  • Black Water Sister by Zen Cho (Ace, Macmillan)
  • The City Beautiful by Aden Polydoros (Inkyard)
  • The Last House on Needless Street by Catriona Ward (Nightfire; Viper UK)
  • A Master of Djinn by P. Djèlí Clark (Tordotcom/Orbit UK)
  • “And What Can We Offer You Tonight” by Premee Mohamed (Neon Hemlock)
  • “A Canticle for Lost Girls” by Isabel Yap (Never Have I Ever)
  • Finches by A. M. Muffaz (Vernacular)
  • “For Sale by Owner” by Elizabeth Hand (When Things Get Dark)
  • Nothing But Blackened Teeth by Cassandra Khaw (Nightfire)
Short Fiction
  • “(emet)” by Lauren Ring (F&SF Jul/Aug 2021)
  • “#Spring Love, #Pichal Pairi” Usman T. Malik ( 3 Mar 2021)
  • “The Demon Sage’s Daughter” by Varsha Dinesh (Strange Horizons 8 Feb 2021)
  • “The Failing Name” by Eugen Bacon & Seb Doubinsky (Fantasy Aug 2021)
  • “If the Martians Have Magic” by P. Djèlí Clark (Uncanny Sep/Oct 2021)
  • “Where Oaken Hearts Do Gather” by Sarah Pinsker (Uncanny Mar/Apr 2021)
  • The Year’s Best African Speculative Fiction (2021) by Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki, ed. (Jembefola)
  • Professor Charlatan Bardot’s Travel Anthology to the Most (Fictional) Haunted Buildings in the Weird, Wild World (2021 Edition), Charlatan Bardot & Eric J. Guignard, eds. (Dark Moon)
  • Speculative Fiction for Dreamers: A Latinx Anthology Alex Hernandez, Matthew David Goodwin & Sarah Rafael García, eds. (Mad Creek)
  • When Things Get Dark: Stories Inspired by Shirley Jackson Ellen Datlow, ed. (Titan)
  • The Year’s Best Dark Fantasy & Horror Volume Two Paula Guran, ed. (Pyr)
  • Midnight Doorways: Fables from Pakistan, Usman T. Malik (Kitab)
  • Big Dark Hole, Jeffrey Ford (Small Beer)
  • The Ghost Sequences, A. C. Wise (Undertow)
  • Never Have I Ever, Isabel Yap (Small Beer)
  • Tales the Devil Told Me, Jen Fawkes (Press 53)
  • The Tallow-Wife and Other Tales, Angela Slatter (Tartarus)
  • Tran Nguyen
  • Brom
  • Odera Igbokwe
  • Aleksandra Skiba
  • Charles Vess
Special Award – Professional
  • Marjorie Liu & Sana Takeda, for Monstress Volume Six: The Vow (Image Comics)
  • Charlie Jane Anders, for Never Say You Can’t Survive (Tordotcom)
  • Cam Collins & Steve Shell, for Old Gods of Appalachia (podcast)
  • Irene Gallo, for
  • William K. Schafer, for Subterranean Press
  • Sheree Renée Thomas, for editing F&SF
Special Award – Non-Professional
  • Tonia Ransom, for Nightlight: A Horror Fiction Podcast
  • Gautam Bhatia & Vanessa Rose Phin, for Strange Horizons
  • Maria J. Pérez Cuervo, for Hellebore
  • Michael Kelly, for Undertow Publications
  • Arley Sorg & Christie Yant, for Fantasy
  • Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, for Uncanny
Judges: C. S. E. Cooney, Julie Crisp, Charles Coleman Finlay, Richard Kadrey, Misha Stone