World Fantasy Awards℠ 2023

The current World Fantasy Award statue was produced by award-winning sculptor and artist Vincent Villafranca ( and first awarded at the 2017 WFC in San Antonio, Texas.


  • Novellas were first awarded in 1982.
  • Collections and Anthologies were given separate categories in 1988.
  • Convention Awards were not given after 1987 except to Hugh B. Cave in 1997.

Use the following links to go to different views of the awards.

>> Complete List of Nominees

>> Complete List of Winners



The World Fantasy Awards winners for works published in 2022 have been announced during the 2023 World Fantasy Convention, held October 26-29, 2023 at the Sheraton Crown Center in Kansas City MO.

The Life Achievement Awards, presented annually to individuals who have demonstrated outstanding service to the fantasy field, went to Peter Crowther and John Douglas.

The World Fantasy Awards winners are:

Best Novel

  • WINNER: Saint Death’s Daughter, C.S.E. Cooney (Solaris)
  • Spear, Nicola Griffith (Tordotcom)
  • The Ballad of Perilous Graves, Alex Jennings (Redhook; Orbit UK)
  • Babel, R.F. Kuang (Harper Voyager US; Harper Voyager UK)
  • Siren Queen, Nghi Vo (Tordotcom)

Best Novella

  • WINNER: Pomegranates, Priya Sharma (Absinthe)
  • The Bruising of Qilwa, Naseem Jamnia (Tachyon)
  • The House of Drought, Dennis Mombauer (Stelliform)
  • Even Though I Knew the End, C.L. Polk (Tordotcom)
  • Helpmeet, Naben Ruthnum (Undertow)

Best Short Fiction

  • WINNER: “Incident at Bear Creek Lodge”, Tananarive Due (Other Terrors: An Inclusive Anthology)
  • “The Devil Don’t Come with Horns”, Eugen Bacon (Other Terrors: An Inclusive Anthology)
  • “The Morning House”, Kate Heartfield (PodCastle 7/5/22)
  • “Telling the Bees”, Kat Howard (Sunday Morning Transport 1/30/22)
  • “Douen”, Suzan Palumbo (The Dark 3/22)

Best Anthology

  • WINNER: Africa Risen: A New Era of Speculative Fiction, Sheree Renée Thomas, Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki, Zelda Knight, eds. (Tordotcom)
  • Screams from the Dark: 29 Tales of Monsters and the Monstrous, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Nightfire)
  • Other Terrors: An Inclusive Anthology, Vince A. Liaguno & Rena Mason, eds. (Morrow)
  • Dark Stars: New Tales of Darkest Horror, John F.D. Taff, ed. (Nightfire)
  • Trouble the Waters: Tales from the Deep Blue, Sheree Renée Thomas, Pan Morigan, Troy L. Wiggins, eds. (Third Man)

Best Collection

  • WINNER: All Nightmare Long, Tim Lebbon (PS)
  • Dark Breakers, C.S.E. Cooney (Mythic Delirium)
  • Breakable Things, Cassandra Khaw (Undertow)
  • Boys, Beasts & Men, Sam J. Miller (Tachyon)
  • A Different Darkness and Other Abominations, Luigi Musolino (Valancourt)

Best Artist

  • WINNER: Kinuko Y. Craft
  • Galen Dara
  • Matt Ottley
  • Lauren Raye Snow
  • Charles Vess

Special Award – Professional

  • WINNER: Matt Ottley, for The Tree of Ecstasy and Unbearable Sadness (Dirt Lane)
  • Irene Gallo, for
  • Gavin J. Grant & Kelly Link, for Small Beer Press
  • Tim Lebbon & Daniele Serra, for Without Walls (PS)
  • Fiona Moore, for Management Lessons from Game of Thrones: Organization Theory and Strategy in Westeros (Edward Elgar)


Special Award – Non-Professional

  • WINNER: Michael Kelly, for Undertow Publications
  • Cristina Macía, for The Celsius Festival
  • dave ring, for Neon Hemlock Press
  • Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, for Uncanny
  • E. Catherine Tobler, for editing The Deadlands

This year’s judges were Dale Bailey, Kelly Robson, Ginny Smith, A.C. Wise, and Ian Whates. For more information, see the WFC website.